Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – 17 March 2003, the Orange Peel, Asheville, NC

I could attempt to conjure up a million words to describe the euphoria I felt seeing Mr. Cave live, but they would all be useless in the face of the actual experience.
They played a good number of cult hits -“Red Right Hand”, “Deanna”, “Stagger Lee”, “From Her to Eternity”- and even returned for an encore.
The Orange Peel: great acoustics, weird liquor laws.
I wish I could have gotten closer, I wish I could have been the girl who somehow got onstage, or at least gazed into the man’s eyes once or thrice – those are my only regrets. The entire experience is still unreal – scoring $45 tickets before they sold out in ten minutes, an unexpected road trip adventure with my boyfriend and friends, and seriously, actually seeing the man perform. The Bad Seeds are a force in and of themselves and Nick will always be a rock ‘n’ roll prophet.